Settings on the System Restore tab allow you to manage restore points, which makes it possible to restore previous states of Windows. Also, using these settings, you can free up space (in some cases, very significantly) on your hard drive by deleting unnecessary points.
System Restore is a Windows feature that allows you to restore system functionality by restoring system files, the registry, and installed applications to a previous state, which are stored as restore points. System Restore does not affect users' personal files, such as email messages, documents, or photos.
Restore points are “snapshots” of system files, the registry, and installed applications at a specific point in time. They are created automatically on a schedule, as well as before significant system events, such as installing a program or device driver. You can also create a restore point manually at any time.
The System Restore feature is present in Windows 11, 10, 8, 7, Vista, XP. Each of them has its own differences in how system recovery works.
Not all changes made using Red Button can be undone using System Restore.
Files deleted by the Disk Cleaner module, in most cases can not be restored by System Restore. This is due to the fact that the module is capable to remove many different types of files, most of which are not executable, and System Restore monitors only for certain types of files, usually executable.
Any changes in your system, made using the registry cleaning module may be canceled by System Restore.
Any changes in your system, made using the Performance Tweaks module may be canceled by System Restore.
Some components that were deleted by Red Button, can be fully or partially recovered by System Restore. But we don't guarantee it. When you remove operating system components you should not count on the possibility of their recovery by System Restore.
Here are just a summary of the System Restore feature in Windows. For more detailed information, please refer to additional sources. For example: