Red Button > Help > Features > Data Eraser > Erasing an entire disk

Erasing an entire disk

Erasing an entire disk will completely destroy all data stored on it such as data, metadata, and directory structures. So BE CAREFUL (!) with this feature, especially when using a portable version of the program.

Depending on the disk size, the number of passes and some other factors, overwriting can take a substantial amount of time.

When you try to access (open) to the erased disc, you will be prompted to format it, then you can use this disk as before.

Due to the nature of specific storage devices and software, we can't always guarantee rewriting of all 100% of the selected area. For example, magnetic disks may develop new "bad sectors" after data have been written. Modern hard disks often feature automatic remapping of marginal sectors or tracks, which the OS may not even be aware of. Attempts to counter data remanence by overwriting may not be successful in such situations, as data remnants may persist in such nominally inaccessible areas.

© 2006-2020 Pothos     Privacy Policy     Terms of Use